Dish Pronto Review

This is my story with Dish Pronto.

This seems to an outfit run from India, claiming to be working from the “2nd floor of Empire State Building, HQ of Dish Network”. All these indian agents have the following names:

“Eric Bishop” – This guy was relentless in closing my account. I dont have a problem with this guy, he was polite through out. His phone number:1800 252 3701 x3209

“Sara” – Supervisor, Didnt know the address of Empire State Building, “She sarcastically asks “you should have heard of empire state building””.

“Clyde” – Some other supervisor, probably the idiot that messed up the account.

“Neil” – Eric’s supervisor.

“Ricky” – the most arrogant of all. Asks me to calm down, refuses responsibility as he did not sign me up and disconnects the line.

“Roger Mathews” – “Super Supervisor” (funny title eh!) Initially arrogant, calms down after a “talk” (gives me the address on his work place after putting me on hold for a few seconds, I ask him if its raining in NY and he hangs up and then says he was going to call me from his extension!!) Finally he was the only one that could fix the mistake THEY made.

With the characters in place, lets get on with the story.

I wanted to sign up with Dish mainly because of the World Cup Cricket broadcast, so I call Dish direct, they sign me up, Very professional call. Took me 15 minutes to sign up. All details explained very clearly, the guy even waives the sign up fee as I was switching from Comcast. With everything set, a local contractor representing Dish comes home, checks out a tree in the line of sight for the dish and says, he cant hook me up. (India didnt make the second round, so I did not care about this).

A couple of months later, “Dish” calls me again. Eric Bishop with an Indian Accent, talks to me, says they did not send a good technician earlier as Dish always tries to save some money initially and see if they can hook up the dish. I ask him if he is allowed to say such things about the company and he says he is being frank ! Also they have a new tracker device which can lock on and get the signal right even if there is a tree and that he is confident the dish would be hooked up. Huh ???

He gives me the same plan, except he adds 59.98 signing up charges. I said I am not interested and he says he will check with his “supervisors” and call me back. He calls about a week later and gives me the same story, I say No but he is relentless and says if I can find a friend who is a Dish customer, he can give me a club number, he can waive all sign up charges. (The only reason I am interested in this deal is because Comcast is so freaking expensive). I know a friend who is a Dish customer and we work everything out. I will be hooked up with 3 tvs, 2 of them hd and 1 standard. I will also get a home theatre system free. I will get an HD DVR free but there is a 5.98 charges as I dont have a land line. I decline the HD DVR. I will also get HBO movies free for 3 months. Everything is set. My monthly charge is 65.99 less 20.00 mail in for 10 months. (They run my SSN credit check 2nd time, which I hated).

I then decide to pay for the HD DVR and called back to add the option. This time “Eric” is not around, so I talk to “Clyde” who makes the change.

Then the night before my installation, Ten Points, a local contractor calls me and confirms I have 2 TVs to be hooked up. I said no, it should be 3. Nancy fom Ten Points requests I talk to “Dish” and fix this, so she can hook me up with 3. She was very helpful.

This is where the drama starts. I call “Dish”. “Ricky” picks up. He says he cant help, I have to call Dish Network, I ask them who they are, he says they are “Dish Network” ! but I have to call customer support. He claimed he did not sign me up, Eric did and he cant fix Eric’s or Clyde’s mistake. He asks me not to shout and calm down when I try to reason with him ! That pisses me off and I ‘advice’ him on how to talk to customers and ask for his manager. He puts me on hold for 5 minutes and disconnects the line. I call right back and “Sara” the supervisor picks up. I am ticked off now and ask them where they work out off and she says Empire State Building. I asked her for the address and she says “you should have heard about the building” but could not give me the address. I asked her how she got to work and she says she drives, the company has given her a car ! WOW, my company does not give me a car and I work 50-60 hours a week. She claimed she was new in NY. Hmm. New, and drives a company car to an office she does not know the address of. Hows that ?. Anwyays she also says she cannot fix the problem and forwards to call to “Roger Mathews” the “super supervisor”. Roger comes on, asks me to call Dish Network, I refuse and ask them to fix the problem. He initally says he did not make the mistake and he cannot fix it. I am very pissed now and give him a piece of my mind. Then he says he will fix the problem, but says the installation appointment will be changed. I asked him not to worry about the appointment as Nancy said all she needs is the number of TVs changed. As Roger tries to fix the problem, I probe him on where he works, same answer. “The Empire State Building”. I asked him for the address and he puts me on hold and comes back and gives me the address with a suite number of 6320. I asked him if it was raining in NY and he disconnects me. (This is hilarious!) I call him right back. Talk to “Steve” who transfers me to “Roger”. I asked why he cut me off, his answer was “I was going to go to my extension and call you” …..”Extension !! give me a f*cking break !”. The “Empire State Building” offices dont have phone systems with “forwarding capabilities”.

He fixes the number of TV issue but says the appointment has now moved to 15th. I didnt care about that. I wanted to confirm everything. He now says the home theatre is available only after 3 months and I have to pay an extra 14.95 for shipping. No body told me about this before. He also says the monthly charges are 67.99 less 20.00 mail in and not 65.99 less 20.00 mail in.

I have to talk to Eric on Sunday or Monday and see where things are. I will also wait for “Ten Points” to see if they can install a Dish. If they cannot, I am going to call these idiots almost every day and piss them off. It will be a waste of time but WILL BE FUN !

Another issue is “Roger Mathews” says they will review the tapes of conversations as they tape everything. There was no mention of recording any where or from any body. This could be a legal issue, where they are (if they really are) recording without letting the other party know.

Lets see how the drama unfolds.

UPDATE: As expected, the technician came home and in 2 minutes said Dish is not possible and there is no such thing as tracking device !

When I called back, I spoke to “Hansie”. Asking the same questions, he said it is “Snowing in New York” – In the middle of May 2007 ! Hows that? IDIOTS !

Then I called for another question and talked to “Josh Butler”. I am having fun collecting these names !

UPDATE:
Hey ! I called them for fun 3 times and got 3 more name: “Elton Mathews”, “William Smith” ! and Michael Hill (he is Hansie’s Supervisor). This is too funny.

UPDATE: Another fake name “Anna Williams” at x5368 “PHIRST CLASS TELUGU ACCENTU !” – Hilarious !

~ by neeleshshah on May 12, 2007.

16 Responses to “Dish Pronto Review”

  1. please tell more about us
    ronnie rogers

    the cockiness of you guys is unbelievable….yours is probably the worst experience i have had with a vendor other than U-Haul !-n

  2. Hey Neelesh, you can add one more name to that funny list ‘Joshua Parker’ thats me.I remember speaking to you once regarding dish.Though you have put your problems in hilarious way I could understand what you went through.I apologise on behalf my company.

  3. thks for this information neelesh. they called me and tried one hour to convince me over the phone to sign me up and i said no i need time to think. they were more interested in knowing about my personal life than the offer.

  4. Yes, well I am in the process of tracking down this company because we have continuously had them calling us and we demanded they place us on their Do Not Call List. In an attempt to get their address that get very confused and say they are in New York City and refuse to give address. Here’s a name for you Sam Wasson Employee Number 073. They call from 866-381-1671 and give the number 866-381-1770

  5. I am just starting, and I hope finishing, my own nightmare with Dish Pronto. So far all it has cost me is the “processing fee” of $14.99 – that was charged twice – and a $49.99 “cancellation fee” because I canceled as soon as I started getting that feeling in the pit of my stomach that everything was not right.
    I wish I had read your experience first.

  6. I would like share my experience with Dish Pronto. One Indian guy called me and gave some good offer to switch to Dish network and as they provide so many indian channels, i decided to join them. I confirmed 3 times that I will get free gift after 3 months of bill pay and i can claim it after 3 months only. but when i searched on their website, i came to know that i need to select a gift, print a form and mail it to them so that they can send me gift voucher. My story starts now. After sending gift request form, i didn’t get anything for more than 2 months so i called customer service. they told me they will send it to me within 15 working days. I called them 7 times and 15X7 working days are passed but still i haven’t received gift voucher. Then my husband called them and asked to cancel the membership but they told that you need to be member for 24 months or you have to pay cancellation fee. When we told them that they are not keeping their promise of free gift. And they replied, only you have to keep your promise for 24 months of membership. and again they promised for 15 working days. Today it’s more than 5 weeks and when i called them again, they told we have shifted our office to central area and supervisor will be available after 1 PM. But within 15 minutes i got a call from their supervisor and first he told me that we have sent you gift voucher on Nov 23 and then after couple of minutes, he told me that i am going to send it now but for that i need your phone no. I asked if they deliver mail by phone???? And then he promised that you will get it in 15 working days. All this gives me rememberance of sunny deol dialogue, “Tarikh pe tarikh…” If i won’t get gift voucher this time, i am planning to send them a legal notice. But i would like other people to know about these fraud people and pls. never get any connection from them. But contact direct to dish tv.

  7. I was merely checking out the Dish Pronto site… made the mistake of putting in my phone number an BAM! 15 min later “Joe” called. Only after our 17 min phone conversation did I ask him his name… I replied, “Really… because you sound more like a “Bob” to me.” My gut told me to go elsewhere, even though they did offer a free surround sound system + HD DVR GOLD and PLATINUM for only 49.99/mo. I think I’ll use this as ammo when I call a REAL Dish Network Rep.

  8. hahahaha gud review………..

  9. I too was just checking out the site to price Dish versus Direct TV and made the mistake of putting in my phone number to get to the package details… got a call within an hour from “Steven” whom I could not understand at all because his accent was so thick. He tried the hard sell and when I told him I wanted to think about it, he got irate with me on the phone, then gave me his name and number and asked if I was going to call him back today. Uh yeah, I’ll get right on that! So glad I listened to the warnings in my head (and stomach) as I am reading these! Thank you all for reporting your problems. Any suggestions on how to get them to stop calling?

  10. Dish Pronto
    Dish Pronto does not provide any proposed plan they give you via the telephone service. When I request they send me an e-mail outlining the proposal of what we agreed to prior to committment
    there is no further communications. I wanted High Speed Internet service and Cell Phone service,they said, no problem, will not disclose who is providing service,such as Dish via satelite or a phone company. I am thoughly disapointed with Dish Pronto.There are no true professionals there who know how to truely provide customer service.

  11. Hi Guys,
    Thank you for your review comments. I was trying to hookup dish with these guys and since DishTV direct ditributor was not able to install it becuase of some issue with the landlord. I went to their website and they started calling me up . Within 5 mins i recieved calls from 3 people.and finally Greg also called… I am not going to go with these guys for sure…..

  12. I too made the mistake of putting my phone number in on their website and “Phillip” called me within 45 minutes from a 1117 number? He offered a great deal and although I was very sceptical I gave him my credit card number to put a “hold” to reserve my deal, it wasn’t until they asked my for my social security number did I finally call it quits. Be AWARE of these people, something’s just not right!

  13. Hi, I am glad I found your site. I too stupidly put my phone number in when I came upon their site. These idiots called me at 9:47 PM!!! Which is a complete violaion of the FCC rules. They can be fined heavily for each violation. I know these rules b/c I have worked for a call center before (a third party satisfaction survey company, but we had had to know all the rules and follow them!) When Dish pronto called I asked him if he knew that is was 9:47 at night and that it was an FCC violation and to take me off his list. Again by FCC rules if you ask them to take you off their list, then they have to take you off their list! Well these dude calls me back again today!! I screamed at him this time to take me off his list (as he was trying to talk over me) and that I was reporting him to the FCC. I plan on getting a copy of my cell records to send with the FCC comlaint to show they violated these rules. PLease if they call when they aren suppose to (before 8am or after 9pm, or you ask them to take you off their list and they do not) Please report them! That is they only way these companies will learn is if these laws put into place are actually followed through on.

  14. I have just filed a complaint with the FCC regarding these guys. I inquired about Dish Network through Dish Pronto. They called me at 9:45 PM the first time. I asked the guy if he knew what time it was and that it was an FCC violation. I told them not to call again and to take me off their list. They called again the other night. I yelled at them this time to take me off their list. THEY CALLED AGAIN! This time I told him I was filing a complaint with the FCC and to take me off their list. Please if they keep calling you after you have asked them not to file a complain with the FCC. It is easy and only takes a min. They are supposed to get fined over 10k for each incident. If people keep complaining about them maybe it will shut them down.

  15. dish network pronto asked for my account number from my bank account . then they wanted to get my social security to check my credit this assholes never told me to verify first if i was elegible to qualify for their dishnetwork pronto. when they called me they said they were dishnetwork not pronto. it was an indian and hes name was supposely daniel anderson. his number is 1800-252-3701 ext14175 i told him why didnt you first told me u needed to verify if i had credit before askin for my bank account he didnt have much to say . this is a fucken scam from fucken scam

  16. There are 2 more names: PETER PARKER and MAX HARDY. Also I was talking to one of these idiots and their supervisor calls me while the first call is still on! He then insisted that I talk to him rather than the first guy. I did not budge and he had to hang up so I continued to talk to the previous guy.

Leave a comment